Federal Government Primer to Earthquake Preparedness


Written by


As Washington, DC recovers from the aftershock of a 5.8 magnitude earthquake that shook much of the East Coast, here’s a primer on the federal government’s role related to seismic preparedness.

In 1977, Congress established the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) to help “reduce the fatalities, injuries, and property losses caused by earthquakes.” The initiative directed four agencies, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) to “coordinate their complementary activities to implement and maintain the program.”

FEMA has comprehensive information on what to do before, during and after an earthquake, and USGS lets you report your location and monitor seismic activity around the world.

Key earthquake information can be found at Ready.gov and the FEMA, USGS and Centers for Disease Control Websites. USGS also provides a seven-step Protecting Your Family From Earthquakes safety guide (embed below).

Remember, prepare, plan and stay informed.

Protecting Your Family From Earthquakes

Protecting Your Family From Earthquakes

(function() { var scribd = document.createElement(“script”); scribd.type = “text/javascript”; scribd.async = true; scribd.src = “http://www.scribd.com/javascripts/embed_code/inject.js”; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(“script”)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(scribd, s); })();

-In this Story-

Agencies, Commerce Department, Department of Homeland Security (DHS), Department of the Interior, Departments, FEMA, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), National Science Foundation (NSF), NSF, U.S. Geological Survey