GAO picks new members for health IT committee


Written by

The Government Accountability Office has announced the appointment of three new experts for the Health IT Policy Committee.

David Kotz, Devin Mann and Troy Seagondollar will fill the positions of experts in privacy and security, researcher, and labor representative for health care workers, respectively.

“In developing policy for health information technology, it’s important to take into account expertise related to privacy and security and to health care research as well as the views of health care workers who are the users of HIT,” said Gene Dodaro, U.S. comptroller general and head of GAO. “A number of individuals with backgrounds in these areas responded to GAO’s request for nominations, and I am pleased to announce the addition of today’s new appointments to the HIT Policy Committee.”

The committee, created by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, makes recommendations on the policy of a nationwide health IT infrastructure.

The 20-member committee is made up of members from different categories such as patient advocacy, health improvement of vulnerable populations and health care policy and measurement.

The comptroller general appoints 13 of the 20 members. The secretary of health and human services, the majority and minority leaders of the Senate and the speaker and minority leader of the House appoint the other seven.

Kotz, who will be serving a three-year term, is a professor of computer science at Dartmouth College. He studied the use of mobile technology to protect the medical privacy of individuals.

Mann has researched the use of health IT to improve medical care. He is an assistant professor at Boston University and a doctor at Boston Medical Center.

Seagondollar is the regional nursing technology liaison for Kaiser Permanente.

-In this Story-

Congress, Government Accountability Office (GAO), Government IT News
TwitterFacebookLinkedInRedditGoogle Gmail